About| Property Search| List Property| Advertise| Contact

RSS Feed Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Facebook Pinterest G+

The Order of Chivalry in Australia: The Queens’ Birthday Honour List

by Marquette Turner Luxury Homes

in Special Reports, The Real State

Have you ever wondered what the Queens’ Honour list is? I can honestly say that I have heard many times over the years that someone has been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) and I thought it was the highest honour that an Australian could receive. It certainly sounds fantastic and it would be nice to think that I could make enough of a difference in my life to be worthy of something like that.


Since it is the Queens’ birthday weekend I think it’s important for us all to know exactly what the Honours are that can be received and some of the history surrounding it. The order of Chivalry in Australia was established on February 14, 1975 (a year before I was born). The order is divided into Military and General divisions and this is the list from most prestigious down:

1. Knight (Sir) or Dame (AK or AD) – Australians can no longer receive this honour – Last year was 1986

2. Companion (AC)200906051038.jpg

3. Officer (AO)200906051038.jpg

4. Member (AM)200906051038.jpg

5. Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)200906051038.jpg

Therefore the most prestigious order of Chivalry an Australian can now receive is Companion (AC). We can no longer be Knighted, with the last Knighthoods being given in 1986. Only 25 Companion (AC) orders are given annually, with Honours announced twice each year – on Australia Day (January 26) and the Queens’ Birthday weekend in June.

For those people receiving recognition this weekend a huge congratulations!


Marquette Turner Luxury Homes on MarquetteTurner.com

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: